Jenkins Mentoring - Short Term Contract, General Direction Question

Summary

I am looking to spend around $1000 of my own money (not my company) to fast-track getting some competency in Jenkins. What I need is direction and focus from a code mentor. Job length is probably 8-10ish hours spread out over 1-2 hour virtual meetings over several weeks. Topics would include
  • Overview of the challenges we are facing as it relates to Jenkins.
  • General direction as it relates to declarative or scripted pipelines.
  • What to focus on for learning a subset of Groovy for Jenkins.
  • General Jenkins/Groovy best practices.
  • Specific ideas as it relates to the task that I need to do on Jenkins. MATLAB, npm, Danger, Artifactory, etc.
  1. What direction would you have for me?
  2. Contact me if you think you would be a good match as a Code Mentor.

Details

I am new to Jenkins, but I am picking it up quickly. I have a background in controls and mechanical engineering, which involves a lot of MATLAB and Simulink code. I write code every day and have a base knowledge of software engineering and computer science.

At work, we build control software for off-highway vehicles. We use Github, npm as a package manager, Artifactory as a package/artifact registry, and Jenkins for testing code and publishing to Artifactory.

The tasks that most colleagues and myself need to do are

• Run unit tests on a Pull Request or Push to Github
  • Publish to Artifactory from Jenkins. This is done for security, so credentials that publish to the package manager are centrally held.