Generating an APK without having an Android SDK

Hello there, I’m very new to Jenkins and I’m hitting a wall right now. As the title suggests, I’m trying to set up a Jenkins job that would be able to generate an Android APK every time a commit occurs in GitLab.

My problem is that currently the Jenkins server is located on a Mac and for certain reasons I am unable to set up the Android SDK environment on the machine. Most of the guides and tutorial I’ve found on the internet requires an SDK environment to generate an APK, so I’m currently out of ideas on how to do this.

On the other hand, I was able to generate an IPA for the iOS version of the app I’m developing using Fastlane without setting up any connections to Xcode (This was done using said Mac). I would like to replicate this process on a Windows device but Fastlane doesn’t really have the best support on Windows so I’m iffy about using it. I tried looking for the Windows equivalent/alternative to Fastlane but to no avail.

So now we’re back to the title, would it be possible to generate an APK without setting up an Android SDK on Jenkins?

If you can find a way to do it without jenkins, then i’m sure jenkins can do it.

But the sdk includes all the depandancies, so i think they are needed.

Just fyi, as I set it up this week, installing the sdk is download the commandlinetools zip, extracting to a directory, then adding it to path. This is something jenkins can do in your build if you can’t install android studio (which is what I’m assuming you mean when you say “cant install for reasons”)

I don’t really know anything about APK’s and Android studio. But I have other ideas for fixing the problem.

Can you setup docker on the mac machine that is running Jenkins? If so you could try running the build inside of a container that uses a docker image that has Android Studio, something like this container.