Unable to remove users in People

Unable to remove users from jenkins in people.
After deleting they are re-appearing.

On my Jenkins installation, the text on the “People” page says:

Includes all known “users”, including login identities which the current security realm can enumerate, as well as people mentioned in commit messages in recorded changelogs.

If you’re deleting people that are mentioned in recorded changelogs, I believe they will just be recreated the next time those people are encountered in a changelog.