Redundant folders using @ seperation

Hi,

As I am relatively new to Jenkins, I am working to understand certain behaviors within the platform.

I have a virtual machine where Jenkins is installed directly, not via Docker. Multiple jobs run within Jenkins, each utilizing a Docker container on the same system.

Question:

I’ve encountered an issue where certain builds fail due to the ‘@’ character in folder/workspace names. My understanding was that when two jobs run on the same machine, the job executed by executor number 2 would use a folder ending in ‘@2’. However, I recently observed a scenario where two jobs were running in parallel—both on the same machine/agent—with the second job starting after the first. Surprisingly, the second job, executed by executor 2, did not use the ‘@2’ folder but instead used the main/original workspace folder.

This behavior is confusing, and I’m trying to understand how Jenkins handles this situation. Could someone please explain how Jenkins manages workspaces and folders in such cases?

Hoping to get an answer soon!

Kind Regards,
Srijith Krishnan

The number after @ is not determined by the executor number. An @2 (or a higher number) is only used when the original workspace (without @) is already occupied by a build. So what might have happened is that you have a first build, then the second build started while the first was still in progress. Now the first build ended and a third build started. This third build will again get a workspace without @ in the name because it is free. On which executor the builds happen doesn’t matter.

Hi @mawinter69,

Thank you for the quick response!

That explanation makes more sense. As you mentioned, the second build will use the folder with ‘@2’ only if the original workspace is already occupied by another build. However, in my case, two jobs were being executed, so the workspaces should have been different, correct?