Builds running/failing before node is ready

I inherited a rather complex Jenkins setup, and now they’re telling me I’m the expert! I have a lot of CI/CD experience with other platforms, but only the most basic knowledge of Jenkins itself.

We’re using Jenkins 2.222.4 and I’d love to upgrade, but a test run of that path was full of tears so for now we’ve stayed on this old version.

We launch build nodes through AWS ASG (EC2 Fleet),which might be through a plugin- I’m not sure which one. We build an AMI with most of what we need, then run Chef Zero on them again after launching a new node- at which point they are available to jenkins.

The new problem we’re seeing on one type of our nodes is that the build seems to be running a few minutes before the node is actually ready.

Here is an example error:

11:05:34 Building remotely on minion-2xl i-abcdef12345678 (main mysql bazel-worker frontend) in workspace /mnt/jenkins/workspace/main/master/bazel-build
11:05:34 [WS-CLEANUP] Deleting project workspace...
11:05:34 [WS-CLEANUP] Deferred wipeout is used...
11:05:34 Running Prebuild steps
11:05:34 [bazel-build] $ /bin/bash /tmp/jenkins1234567890.sh
11:05:34 fatal: not a git repository: '/mnt/jenkins/main.git'
11:05:34 Failed build for hudson.tasks.Shell@3b2ac32e

If we wait 3-4 more minutes and run again, it runs fine. This failure returns when we spin up new nodes- until they have also been up for several minutes. Since we launch our nodes through ASG, we might only run a few builds on the node before it shuts down. So a high percentage of our builds are on “fresh” nodes, and failing due to overfreshness.