Inclusive Naming - Okafor Peace Ngozi - She Code Africa Contributhon 2022

Introduction

My name is Okafor Peace, I am a Technical Writer from Nigeria and I love learning how to write more meaningful code & contributing to open source. I love Tech and I am interested in exploring the tech industry. Contributing to open source was one of the decisions I made for myself this year which led me to apply for the She Code Africa Contributhon. However, for the open-source Contributhon, I worked on the Jenkins “Inclusive Naming” project and I will say this is one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Inclusive Naming is a Jenkins open-source project for renaming terminologies that were already outdated or out of line with what Jenkins wanted to be as a project. Some of those terminologies include:

• Renaming Master to Controller or Main
  • Renaming Slave to Agent
  • Renaming Whitelist to Allow
  • Renaming Blacklist to Disallow

Summary of the Boot Camp

The boot camp officially kicked off with the onboarding call held on the 5th of April, 2022. In attendance were the different mentees assigned to various projects under the Jenkins, and other organizations, mentors for the individual projects, the She Code Africa POCs, and the Open-Source Programs Manager at She Code Africa, Zainab Abubakar. The Jenkins team were all added to the continuous delivery foundation slack group and we started slow and moved on steadily.

The first two weeks went on with more calls, setting up our working environment, onboarding, and introductory sessions within the community. I was paired with a co-mentee, Catherine . We were to contribute to the same project – the Inclusive Naming project, under the guidance of our assigned mentor, Mark Waite .

Challenges Faced